• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need OC help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

VanillaOreo

Hey guys I just made this account cause i'm tired of searching for answers when i'd rather ask. I just upgraded my CPU to a Phenom II x4 965. I bought an after market cooler, the hyper 212 plus after reading good reviews. I decided this would be my first overclock attempt!! :clap: Anyways i got prime95 and AMD overdrive, in amd overdrive i bumped up my multipliers intill i went from 3.4ghz to 3.6ghz and everything ran cool about 15-20 minutes in prime it was about 52-53C max. I heard 60C is the spot to stay under so i went for 3.8ghz and got this error from prime on one of my cores "Rounding was 0.5, expected less than 0.4" does this mean i need to increase voltage? And if so how much? I'm i total noob here. Before you ask specs: m4a88t-m motherboard, Phenom II x4 965, hyper 212 plus cooling, 500w antec power supply, adata 4g dual channel 1600mhz, and a geforce gt240(soon to be a radeon 7770). Anyways guys any help would be amazing :bday:

Here you go!

That's as good as it gets for OC guides for Ph2 overclocking.
I don't have the time to attempt that wall of text at the moment, but i will sometime tonight most likely. Thank you! I don't know what it is, but the second i start getting into my computer hardware i can't stop.
Been about 4 years since i dared open up my case though...

Increase your voltage in .025 increments until you get the final overclocked kind of zeroed in on and then tweak the voltage down if you can. The kind of error you got is indicative of need more vcore.

Welcome, VanillaOreo.
the denab cpus tend to get unstable at around 55c.