• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New (and first) water cooled build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

flk3000

Registered
Hi all,

OK so I've built plenty of air cooled PCs but this is my first attempt at water cooling. Does anyone have any feedback on my planned build? My components are listed below, although I'm open to suggestions on anything I haven't already purchased! :). I've also sketched out the cooling loop - again I'm open to suggestions on better ways to do this, note I've routed a tube behind the motherboard tray in my plan, will that be OK? I'm not sure of the best way to include a drain port, perhaps a quick disconnect on one of the tubes going to the pump?

I'm leaving room for expansion with this build. I may want to go SLI in the future, and add another rad in the front.

Component list updated on July 5

Case: Fractal Design Define S (purchased)
CPU: i5 6600k (purchased)
GPU: Either GTX 1070 or GTX 1080
PSU: reuse existing 650w (purchased)
Motherboard: MSI Z170A SLI Plus (purchased)
RAM: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16 GB (2x8) 3200Mhz (purchased)
SSD: Samsung 500gb 850 EVO (purchased)
Radiator: Alphacool NexXxos ST30 420mm (purchased)
Fans: Akasa Ultra Quiet Viper 140mm (purchased)
Pump reservoir combo: XSPC D5 Photon 170 (purchased)
CPU block: EKWB Supremacy EVO – Acetal and Nickel (purchased)
GPU block: TBD
Fittings: Monsoon compression, Matte Black EK ACF, black (purchased)
Coolant: TBD, yellow
Tubing: 16/10mm, clear

Layout.png

And a photo of the build so far. Not much more I can do until I get the rest of the components now! :D
IMG_3853.JPG

Thanks all

Last edited:
Hi all,