• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New Build Woes

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Sprigum

Registered
Hey guys, first post here. I've been building PC's for about three years now. I've built 8 for myself, friends, and family.

Tonight my latest project arrived and I spent a couple hours putting everything together, but it seems for the first time since I've been building I have damaged hardware somewhere! I'd just like some advice on narrowing down the problem.

Specs:
AMD 955 X4
ASrock 970 Extreme 4
Kingston 1600 DDR3 2x2GB
Samsung Spinpoint 1 TB
XFX 6950 1 GB
Corsair TX650W
HAF 932 (excessive for this build I know)

Basically when booting the computer I can roll a set of dice and get one of a few possible outcomes:

- Freezes somewhere on desktop (win 7 64-bit) in under 10 mins.
- Freezes in BIOS
- Shuts off randomly in Windows

Generally after doing any of these things I reboot and usually can't get video or even a post beep. If I let it sit a minute I can try again and it will usually succeed.

Motherboard recognizes everything appropriately.

What I'm thinking:

- Motherboard came in a box that has seen better days, was split open, motherboard has a cap that is slightly bent near the CPU socket. So that was my first thought.

- My best working theory at the moment is the TX650W though. I think this is probably a PSU issue. Correct me if I'm wrong since I've never had a PSU DOA before. It seems like random shutdowns and freezing would be attributed to this.