• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New guy: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 From 2.8ghz to 3.2ghz on stock fan? Help?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

koroush

Registered
Hi guys, I'm obviously new to the forums and I wanted to see if I could overclock my CPU so I could perform better in some games.

Right now it's at 2.8ghz so I want to take small steps and go to 3.0ghz.. Is it possible with a stock fan?

Keep in mind that I have never overclocked before and this is my first time, some help please?

Thanks guys.

Going from the default clock of 2.83 to 3.0 GHz is entirely possible w/ stock cooling. List your system spec's in it's entirety, or better yet create a sig. listing the components.

First, Welcome!!!

Second, I would read the C2D/C2Q overclocking guide that is a "sticky" in this same section to help you out.

To directly answer your question, that should be cake. You just need to keep that PC under 70C or so (DL a program called Realtemp to monitor temps).

Thanks guys, I updated my Sig with the stuff.

Just one question... I've heard that OCing will reduce the life of the CPU... Is that true? Thanks.

You will undoubtedly upgrade before it dies on you. YOu are cooling with air so your voltages wont be that high and temps should be kept under 75C with Prime 95 Small FFT load.

You will undoubtedly upgrade before it dies on you. YOu are cooling with air so your voltages wont be that high and temps should be kept under 75C with Prime 95 Small FFT load.

So even a .2Ghz increase would make it die?

:eek:

So even a .2Ghz increase would make it die?

:eek:

If temps are bad ... YES !
Let me clarify this vague answer a bit...