• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to AMD, is this an OK overclock?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

smokeeye

Registered
Hello all

As title suggests, I'm completely new to the AMD cpus and just recently bought an FX8320 paired up with M5A99FX EVO Rev 2.0 MB, 16GB Corsair 1666mhz (CL9) RAM and a Gigabyte Windforce R9 270x GPU.

Though currently running with stock HSF I tried to give a small overclock to my CPU, and I have it now stable on 4.2ghz with 1.22V.

Is that an ok OC for those that are experienced with AMD (using stock cooler)?

Edit: Corrected information.

Last edited:
I mean, is it stable? Seems fine to me if its stable... you are on the stock cooler so not much more you cna do. What are temps under stress testing?

Hehe, was just reading my other thread on here from 2012, whereas you were to an great assistance aswell! :)

I've run it through IBT and it came out stable, with IBT it went up to 70c at max, in gaming (BF4 and Rome 2, cpu dependent games) it will go to about 54c after some hours.

We generally use P95 blend for a stress test and HWmonitor. If that was the package temp that's really pushing what we like to see for day to day use. Preferrably 62c or less for the CPU cores(package) and 70 for CPUTIN. You really should invest in a better cooler.

I shall see if I can make it run a P95 test tonight.
And I already have an eye out for a cooler, just having some fun with my current setup.

Though reading around about FX8320 and overclocking I have yet to see anyone mentioning a vCore below 1.3v. And I'm running 1.22..

So I tried pushing it just a few notches up, but it always results in a BSOD/crash. So it seems that 4.2 w/ 1.22v is the way to go until I recieve a new cooler.