• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED New to OCing

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nicthalon

Hi folks, I'm new to overclocking, and after looking through the forums, I'm hoping maybe I could get some pointers to threads I missed or direct advice for a mild OC.

Just built a new system, current specs:
ASUS P8P67 WS Revolution Rev 3.0
Intel Core i7-2600K
G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB DDR3 2133
NZXT Phantom case

Originally got a Zalman CNPS11X Extreme cooler, but it wouldn't clear the ram or the northbridge heatsinks, so using Intel stock cooler for now. I've seen a lot of advice in favor of the Hyper 212+. Would this work with my mobo and ram? Also would I still have the clearance for the 200mm fan in the case side?

Case has 140mm intake in front, 2x140mm intake in side, (have 200mm intake for side ordered), 2x200mm exhaust on top, 140mm exhaust on back.

So far, CoreTemp shows my CPU cores idling around 40C. Have 2x GTX560 Ti in SLI, those are running around 50C and 35C, I'll look around on the GPU forums for advice on splitting the load evenly and keeping one from being a lot hotter than the other.

CoreTemp shows my CPU running at 3411.28MHz (100.33 x 34). I'd like to hit around 4Ghz, maybe a little higher, and I want to make sure I'm getting full use of the higher clock speed RAM.

I've probably missed a lot of things I need to consider, and even more threads that likely cover all this, so I apologize in advance for that.:thup:

Heya Nicthalon,
Great to have you here in the forums :).

Good looking system you got there, will be a fun rig to tweak ^^.