• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie finding best settings for 8086k, Noctua NH-U14s and Prime Z390A

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

granolamonster

Registered
Hi all,

First of all hello, I'm new to messing with OC'ing, please feel free to throw me pointers!

I was fortunate enough to win one of the 8086k's in intels comp a few months back and have finally found enough $$$ to buy a motherboard and ram (corsair lpx 3200) to get it going. I've paired it with my previous Noctua NH-U14s which seems to cope fairly happily.

I'm now trying to find the best settings for my system. I'm not really interested in truly OC'ing this CPU as I cannae afford a new one or a new cooler to cope. At the moment I'm just trying to get my head around the classic with/without asus MCE debate.

I've tried a few combo's so far:

1) XMP enabled and MCE enabled (all other settings default):

Max CPU = 5 ghz
Avg CPU under load = 4.3 ghz

Max Core temp = 66-70oC
Avg Core temp under load = 55-60 oC

Max Core voltage = 1.399v
Avg Core voltage under load = 1.175v

2) XMP enabled and MCE disabled (all other settings default)

Max CPU = 4.6 ghz
Avg CPU under load = 4.1 ghz

Max Core temp = 65oC
Avg Core temp under load = 60 oC

Max Core voltage = 1.25v

3) XMP enabled and AI O'Cing enabled

Max CPU = 5.2 ghz
Avg CPU under load = 4.8 ghz

Max Core temp = 91oC
Avg Core temp under load = 70 oC

Avg Core voltage under load = 1.375v

My question is really which of 1 and 2 should I really be running with? I realise option 3 is pushing things too far with my current cooling. Option 2 seems very safe but I would prefer it if I could hit the 5ghz turbo once in a while. What would you all advise? Is running with MCE enabled going to put too much of a strain on CPU and cooler?

All advice much appreciated!

Cheers!