• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie: Linux vs. Wireless Duel

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

baylord

Registered
I'm new to linux and need some help.

I recently downloaded Fedora Core 3 and cannot for the life of me figure out how to get Fedora to use my wireless card (Gigabyte 802.11g PCI WLAN Card).
*Note: Fedora detects the NIC on the PCI bus when I use the following code: [root@localhost Module]# lspci | grep RaLink

I've done quite a bit of research but I always get lost when I see the code I'm supposed to use (ex. [root@localhost Module]# make, [root@localhost Module]# make install) Both of these commands to not respond when I press enter in the command terminal.

I have also tried to follow the instructions for ndiswrapper (forcing linux to recognize & use the windows driver for the NIC).

I've even tried to simplest approach of manually configuring the network and forcing it to recognize the wireless card, but none of the options seem to work. I always get an error when I try to activate it.

I'd appreciate any help/insight that you might have.

Thanks!

Don't feel bad, baylord. I have the same problem. It always seems that the articles describing how to do things in Linux are written and reviewed by people that know how to solve that particular problem. But that doesn't mean the articles are written for newbies to understand them. Then it gets more complicated with the different distributions of Linux and how every single one has their own best and innovative way to do things. I solved my problem with a Hawking wireless router/bridge. So I'm using the motherboards wired ethernet connection and a cat 5 cable to the bridge, and then the bridge wirelessly connects across the house to get into the router. So far it works well. Good luck!

- Wisdom

Complete Newbie to Linux....