• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie Overclocking Fx 6300 Need help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tedmann12

Registered
Hey guys,

I plan on overclocking my computer tomorrow (possibly tonight) and had a few questions.

I have never done this before, but here are my system specs:

FX 6300
8 GB DDR 1600 ram
Radeon R7 250 gpu
450w PSU

I just installed a Hyper 212 Evo Plus cooling fan.

Firstly, before I get started I wanted to know if 450w PSU is enough for overclocking this processor?

I plan on eventually upgrading my GPU, which I am guessing when I do that, along with my overclocked processor, I will need a new PSU.

Anyway, if any of you guys could give some basic tips to me before I get started that would really be appreciated. I plan on using this forum during the process as I have heard good things about the supportive community here.

Thank you in advance!

Also what motherboard will you be using to overclock. I'm on my phone so I can't see your sig but if you haven't done it yet make a sig similar to mine with all your system information.

My motherboard is a "GA-78LMT-S2" Does that sound right? I got that info from CPU-Z

I remember when I installed my Hyper 212 Evo, I was installing it onto an AM3+.

I'm not sure what brand of psu I have? How can I find that information without opening up the computer?

I would say just pull the side cover off and see what the psu says. Generally only takes a couple seconds to get the side off.

This is a pretty low end build in all aspects of spending money on a system to "overclock"

The PSU is no good. Find a nice Corsair 650 watter or something of the like, gold certified, bronze is ok, Platinum is best....

The board is going to need active cooling on the VRMs or they will thermal throttle the Cpu.