• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

No POST above 2166MHz , new to overclocking / computers / HALP!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jesslca

Hello, I should list to all my parts before we go further! https://ca.pcpartpicker.com/user/JESSlCA/saved/#view=r7FD3C

I am really new to overclocking or having a some-what decent computer and was wondering if someone could help me? If I try to run my RAM above the default 2166 that it seems to be running, I get no post. I've been reading through forums with no luck! I assume the AGESA update isn't out yet, or I am simply doing something wrong! I'm really not sure how to OC the 1700x to the ~1800x level, either, which, I am hoping that my cooling solution can handle! I wanted to install a custom loop, but I'm dreadfully terrified of destroying the components, and I feel it defeats the purpose of building your own computer! Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions, that would be greatly appreciated! Thank-you and sorry for the lack of information; I don't really know what to provide, but any additional information that is requested, I will do my best to provide, but I am flying blind right now!

Also... on quiet fan / cooling profiles, I idle around 36 - 42C, is that okay? (at 3.78GHz, Corsair Link shows this as Temp #1, but the 1700x package says 36C, so I'm not sure what all these are, sorry!) I come from the FX9370 where I was seeing 60+ idle loads, so I'm really not sure, and I've been having trouble gathering information!

Last edited:
Thanks for the response :)
Is the external USB drive like the one attached compatible? I don't actually own a USB stick.