• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noob q: overclocking with auto vcore

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cherev

Registered
Hi,

Im new to this.

I oced (noob oc) my fx8320 on an m5a99fx pro r2, by upping the multiplier to 20 and leaving the vcore set to auto (in bios). Thus i went from 3.5 to 4ghz.

Temps are ok, stress testing also ok.

Now to my q: I read in some places that ocing with vcore to auto is bad, because vcore can get too high. Is this true? Or, as long as my temps are in range, am I ok?

Thanks in advance,

Yes that is true the system can give more voltage than needed. Is it dangerous ? As long as the temps are in line then I would say no it's not. Is it the best way to OC ? Not really but if it works for you then it works. If you want a good read about overclocking the FX have a read through this thread http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=688663 it'll explain a lot of things for you and the you may want to optimize your OC if you need assistance then come back and post we're always happy to lend a hand.

He Johan,

Thank you for your reply.

The reason im asking is that yesterday I saw that HWmonitor reported a max vcore of 2.3 This scared me a little even though I know that HWmonitor sometimes just gives erroneous readings. Vcore is most times around 1.24 (i have windows in high performance mode).

Now, temps have all been good. In fact, when I oc my computer in the way I mentioned, temps (package and socket) are lower than at stock settings with Turbo enabled (package temps: 60 at load vs 62 at load; core temp always beneath 55).

From now on, ill just go by temps to see if oc is still good.

Thank you again.

Last edited:
Cherev,