• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

oc-ing amd athlon x2-215

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tesh94

Hi there.. Im planning to oc my athlon x2 which is currently at stock speed @ 2.7ghz.. planning to get it to 3.3/3.4ghz if possible...
The problem is my board is ECS MCP61PM-GM..
Is it possible to still oc with this board?
I'm pretty new to this so I'm not to sure.. I've checked my bios and there isn't any multiplier option to oc ...
And is it recommended to get an aftermarket cooler like the CM Hyper 212 EVO ?
My psu is gigabyte powerock 500w <-- guess its sufficient :confused:
My gpu is sapphire 4670 1gb . Planning to change this is a few months to sapphire 7770oc vapor-x

ECS MCP61PM-GM << I thought I recognized that motherboard part number and did a search here at OCF forums in the cpu section and do find a few hits.

The ( GM ) in the board model number means the ECS motherboard was manufactured for use in a Gateway Machine. No idea how many models of Gateway used this board. Having a board that is made for a giant OEM computer seller does n0t usually lead to overclocking from bios at all. Gateway fixed the bios so that the options normally used to overclock are generally hidden from view and use.

You write >>
I've checked my bios and there isn't any multiplier option to oc << and since the board is a "made for OEM" motherboard it certainly will not have option to adjust the multiplier and that cpu is not a BE version with unlocked upward multipliers so having such option would do no good on that cpu anyway.