• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

OC my Q6600 quad help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

midrigs24

Registered
Hi i am very new to Overclocking and cooling, i have speedfan and my cpu runs at 45C idle and 60C playing any game, i was wondering if anyone has any advice for a new heatsink/gel, and after i get the temp down i want to OC it and i was wondering if anyone could give me step by step help on how to do so.

system spec's
cpu=quad core q6600 intel
ram=4gigs A-data
vid card= BFG 8800 GTx2 SlI
case=antec case stock fans + 3 extra fans i added myself

Last edited:
Hello and welcome.
THERMALRIGHT ULTRA 120 EXTREME is the best air cooler for a Q6600.
Why not post complete system hardware specs in a sig?
If you are new to the black art of overclocking, I would suggest reading the OVERCLOCKING stickies and FAQs that are offered here.

there i added system specs, also is that too hott for my cpu?

Keep that chip under 70C and you are fine.

As far as the cooler, the TRUE listed above is one of if nto the best, but its expensive. The Xigmatek s1283 will do a fine job and costs about half.

Regarding overclocking. Nobody is really going to give you a step by step, you have to start yourself and we will be quite happy to help. What you can do however is read the C2D/C2Q overclocking guide that is found at this website. That will give you PLENTY of information to start your overclocking adventure. :)

http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?t=515316

Last edited:
Also include in your sig. the brand and model of MB and RAM (Adata is fine, but it doesn't tell us what the SPD voltage or timings are without a model number of the modules).

You wont get terribly far with that quad on that motherboard thats for sure. But check out the guide and begin your adventure!