• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Opinions on H370m boards

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

WackyWRZ

Registered
Building a new NAS / Fileserver and looking for a good mATX or ITX board with 6+ SATA ports to pair with a Coffee Lake Pentium. I've narrowed the best options down to the Gigabyte H370M D3H and ASRock H370M Pro4. I've not built anything since Haswell and am somewhat out of the loop on the newer boards. I've never used ASRock before, had problems with Gigabyte before, and have been relatively happy with Asus - I just don't see anything really decent from them in the lower end range. Their PRIME boards seem to lack VRM heatsinks which probably not a big deal, but seems like a cheap-out.

Just wondering what opinions on the newer stuff is, or if I am overlooking something here!

I agree with you on the ASUS lower end boards not have VRM sinks. There have been reports of them running too hot also which is unnerving.

For a NAS that is running at stock I'm sure a H370 will be more than enough. I've had a few ASRock boards and they are pretty solid. They had some issues about a decade ago, maybe a little less but seem to have that issue resolved.

Will you be using a dedicated Raid Controller?

Right now I am using a Dell Poweredge server, with ESXi that sucks down the juice for about 4 VMs (Domain Controller, File/Plex server, backup, and a couple test servers). Thing is pulling like 180W at idle, because it has RAID cards, and a video card for Plex transcoding. The new system should be able to use the QuickSync and eliminate the video card as well - planning to use the Fractal 804 case.

I had planned to just try UnRAID instead to simplify things, and just use the DC as a VM on it and put Plex in a docker.