• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Opinions on Intel Branded Boards?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Creegz

I just ordered a DZ77GAL-70K on special right now. I am also getting a 3770K with it. I am wondering if I should re-sell the board and get something else or if that board is actually good. I have never used an Intel branded board before and am wondering if they are actually good, or if I'd be better off either cancelling or buying something else and selling this one. In any event I got a good price on the board, it basically came with the processor when I look at the bundle deal I got.

One of my biggest curiosities is the new visual BIOS, and if it's actually reasonable to use. Also, wondering if it has any really big issues, as my current board has serious problems with powering USB devices. It absolutely refuses to do it on any USB 2.0 ports, even after my first one being returned.

Last edited:
over all my experience has been pretty good with intel boards they tend to not have alot of features but are pretty reliable.

UEFI bios are great there are alot more options now as they are no longer limited to a 1Mb file size for the bios like they were with original EFI and so far my system has been very stable and super easy to OC.

My experience with Intel boards in last 2 years is totally different. All Intel boards that I was selling in desktop computers/small servers had some issues. For example I had 1 cpu server board which was unstable while C1 state for cpu was enabled ( and it's default setting ). There was no BIOS fix or anything else.
I just stopped to make desktop computers on Intel boards as Gigabyte or ASRock boards are cheaper and ( hard to believe ) more reliable.