• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclock asus prime z390-a and i9 9900k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

symanleedsuk

I am completely new to overclocking and would like to overclock my new pc. I have enabled xmp 2 for the memory I have. But the auto overclock for the pc is crashing it after several hours. So I am running on defaults with the xmp 2 enabled for the 3200mhz memory. Any help would be appreciated. Living in Leeds UK

We need more information in order to guide you.

What are you cooling the CPU with?

What is the make model and wattage of the PSU?

What is the make and model and amount of the RAM?

What is the make and model of the Video card?

What is the make and model of your case?

The problem you describe can often be attributed to overheating and auto overclocking tends to use more voltage than necessary, this driving temps up.

Hi

Thanks for the reply. I have the following hardware. I did try overclocking on auto but it crashed randomly

750W Corsair RM750i Series Fully Modular PSU, 80PLUS Gold Certified, 135mm Fan, ATX

Corsair Hydro Series H100x, 240mm All-In-One Hydro CPU Cooler, 2x 120mm SP120 PWM Fan, White LED Pump, for Intel/AMD

ASUS PRIME Z390-A, Intel Z390, S 1151, DDR4, SATA3, Dual M.2, 2-Way SLi/3-Way CrossFire, GbE, USB 3.1 Gen2 A+C, ATX

2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus, M.2 (2280) PCIe 3.0 (x4), NVMe SSD, MLC V-NAND, 3500MB/s Read, 3300MB/s Write, 620k/560k IOPS

MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO 8GB GDDR6 Ray-Tracing Graphics Card, 3072 Core, 1650MHz GPU, 1845MHz Boost

4TB Seagate BarraCuda ST4000DM004, 3.5" HDD, SATA III - 6Gb/s, 5400rpm, 256MB Cache, OEM

32GB (2x16GB) Corsair DDR4 Vengeance RGB PRO Black, PC4-25600 (3200), Non-ECC Unbuff, CAS 16-18-18-36, RGB LED, 1.35V