• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclock became unstable over time?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Roguebantha

Registered
So I have something odd that I'm experiencing, and I'm wondering whether this is typical. I've been using the same stable GPU overclock for the past 6 months without issue, but today, my computer suddenly crashed without warning, with my mobo claiming that it could not detect my GPU. I shut down my computer and restarted and when I went to run a stress test, the test (although not the system) crashed claiming a typical unstable GPU behavior "display driver stopped working unexpectedly". I then reset my overclock to default clock speeds...and now it's fine, no problems at all. Is it typical for a once stable overclock to become unstable over time? Or is something more sinister going on here?

Silicon can certainly degrade. Depends on your overclock as far as voltage given to it, temps.. etc.

So.... what card was it? What was your overclock at? Voltage? Temps? What exactly where you doing when it crashed...gaming?

(How about a signature with your hardware in it - unless you are posting mobile and already have one)

Hey EarthDog,
I'm running a Geforce GTX 970 with a modest overclock of around 120 Mhz with stock voltage and a 110% power target. Temps were generally perfectly fine with the highest I ever saw around 80 degrees. And yes, it first crashed when I was gaming and took the whole system with it, and the second time it just crashed itself. I'm now experiencing some small instability while gaming (appears to be things not loading for some reason) and I'm not sure if it's related.

80C indicates a thermal problem. My 970 stays at around 63C full load even during the peak of summer.

voltage is a drug. after awhile enough isn't enough and you keep needing more.