• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking AMD CPU Help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

AkiraArashi

Registered
I'm a total newbie at this whole overclocking thing. I'm trying to overclock my CPU, but am having trouble doing so. I can't really find anything useful that I can comprehend, but I will lay down my specs. I want to overclock my CPU from 3.3ghz to 4.5ghz.

---------Specs-------
>Motherboard: Asus M5A97 R2.0
>CPU: AMD FX8370e Black Edition 3.3ghz
>RAM: EVGA Super Clocked 2x4 8GB DDR3 1600mhz
>CPU Cooler: Cooler Master 212 Evo
>PSU: Corsair CX750M
>GPU: MSI Twin Frozr GTX760 2gb GDDR5 OC
>Case: Corsair Carbide Series Spec-02
>Links to Pictures Of BIOS:https://drive.google.com/folderview?id=0B0F2659crbI4Qm9IRWxtaXVWQjg&usp=sharing

If you need more info I can post more info.

Last edited:
First, that motherboard is not going to be up to your overclocking goals. The VRM section (Voltage Regulation Module) is just too weak to be of use in overclocking an eight core FX CPU. That might be a lot of the reason you are having trouble.

Second, the Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo will only giving enough cooling power to get a very modest overclock. Once you start to raise frequencies and voltages in the overclocking process the power draw and heat produced begin to zoom.

Third, the PSU is not a reliable brand and I would not trust it. If it goes bad it could wipe out other expensive components such as RAM and motherboard.

What video card are you running and what is the make and model of your case?