• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P5Q-Pro & Q9550 problems

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TheMechanic

Hey what's going on people. I'm completely new to overclocking :sn: I have a P5Q-Pro, latest BIOS, ect. My goal is 0C @ 3.4ghz. Attached to it is a Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro with Arctic Silver 5 thermal compound, powered by a modular Mushkin 550 watt PSU.

I have 8GB (4X2gb) G. Skill DDR2-1066 @ 5-5-5-15 / 2.1 Volts. My problem is the following:

I can't post with any OC settings. Ive tried getting my memory up to 1066 and can't even do that. I set my timings manually, along with DRAM voltage, and increased the NB voltage to 1.3, 1.4 and even 1.5 and still cant post with 1066. I can post with 800 though.'

Since i can't even post my memory, i can barely do nothing with my C1 stepping Q9550. I tried setting the FSB manually with auto voltage, doesn't post. I tried entering the standard settings and it still doesnt post. I tried raising NB, FSB Termination and have trid 1.25 volts, 1.3, and 1.3125 with no luck. What can be the problem?

Overclocking this rig is demoralizig me, i feel like im back to my first 8086 >_<

you try 1 stick at a time? maybe start with 1 stick and run a few mem test loops on each one. you may have a bum stick. if each stick passes individually, try 2x2gb. then 3 and so on. i have never had too much luck oc'ing with 4 dimms.

I tried with a single stick and still come up with no post. What's funny is that im now at 3.4ghz. I am able to POST if i turn the machine on a few times after it protectively shuts down. Below are my current BIOS settings.

Ai Overclock Tuner Manual
CPU Ratio Setting 08.5
FSB Frequency 400
PCIE Frequency 100
FSB Strap to North Bridge 400
DRAM Frequency DDR2 1066
DRAM Timing Control 5-5-5-15, rest on auto
CPU Voltage 1.26250