• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PC Gaming LPC 2 build advice

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

animalmom

Registered
Hi - I was listening to the PC Gamer podcast and they were talking about their LPC 2016 super gaming rig. I haven't built a PC in 2 years or so and the other day I was playing Titanfall 2 and couldn't max things out so I want to build a new rig. I have never used proper water cooling before. I thought "why not just build their supercomputer" but I think there are some components I won't need for my system so I wonder if people could opine?

http://www.pcgamer.com/lpc-2016-build/

CPU Intel Core i7 6950X
GPU (2) Nvidia Titan X
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage V Edition 10
RAM 128GB Corsair Dominator Platinum Special Edition DDR4
SSD (2) Intel 750 Series PCIe NVMe 1.2TB
HDD (4) Seagate Barracuda Pro 10TB Helium
PSU EVGA SuperNova T2 1600W
Cooling EKWB water cooling, custom-built

Above is the link. I don't mind the spend but don't want to light money on fire either. I will only use this for VR and Gaming. I don't want to record Video. I currently have an ASUS ROG 144Mhz monior that is 26 inches I think but I may get a bigger 144mhz or a 4K display.

I was wondering:

- Do I really need 128 GB ram or is 64 GB enough? Or rather where does it stop mattering? I've never had more than 16GB
- They have these massive HDD - I don't think I need them for anything. Can I just have SSD? One for system and one for the games? Do I need 1 TB for system or is somethign smaller ok?
- What performance difference do you get from the i7 6950x vs the next step down, how much $ difference?
- I like the idea of doing a water cooled system - can someone tell me exactly what components I should get? They don't specify.
- Any comments ont he case they recommend?