• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Plan to build yet another dually with MSI K7D-Master

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dante

Hello

Today my MSI K7D-Master-L arrived in the mail. This is to be the first part of my new great dualie system. As I'm new to this dualie scene :) I have some questions I'd like have cleared up before buying the other parts. I have read the stickies and the other noob threads, but there are questions nevertheless... Thanks for bearing with me!

First off: cmcquistion recommends to take off the fan of the northbridge on the motherboard. There appears to be a heatsink below the fan. I understand that I don't have to touch the heatsink itself, or will I have to change it for something more potent?

I'm planning on buying two Athlon XP 2500+ (Barton core). But I'm 'hedging' on more price drops, so I can/will wait a bit (until about end of October). At the moment I can get them at 127 francs each (tray) or at 145 francs (boxed) (about $ 100 / 110 respectively). Would you wait as well for the rumoured price drops or is waiting nonsensical?

Then as for RAM sticks: In the sticky cmcquistion recommends buying Samsung PC2700 registered for overclockability and upgradeability. But I can't seem to get these locally, I'd have to buy in 'foreign parts' (and part with a tidy sum of custom duties). Locally I can seem to get Crucial PC2700 ECC Reg or Kingston ValueRam PC2700 ECC Reg. Which would you recommend? Or would you go with 1GB unregistered instead, as this is about the same price as 512MB registered. This way I still could have up to 2GB later, using the two slots for unregistered RAM.

For the power supply there apparently aren't many options locally respective to the recommendations I found on this board. The possibilities in the 450Watts+ department are: