• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Please help...no power on new build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

eco_bach

Hi. This is my 2nd build, so not a TOTAL novice but..

Just completed a build in my new Enthoo Luxe case last night.

My build seemed successful, was able to power up, but I was getting a CPU_FAN error on boot forcing me to enter the BIOS and adjust CPU_FAN settings, My fans were running at 100%.

Tried a couple times without luck, each time after booting received the same error message.

So I assumed a fan header connection issue which I would try and resolve in the morning.

This morning when I switched on my PSU, nothing!. Normally I see LED's on my mobo light up indicating I am successfully receiving power.

Don't recall having this exact problem before.
My mobo and PSU are about 1 year old.

Is it possible my MOBO is fried?

What are some further troubleshooting steps I can take?
Panic is setting in....

What psu/mobo are you using?
why aren't you using your CPU_Fan to connect your CPU fan or AIO?
are all power connectors connected properly (24 pin, 4/8pin, power button, psu cable yes i know this sounds dumb)
clear CMOS just in case
if this doesn't work a more drastic few steps are required.

(if you have a custom loop check for leakage first and try the following without taking your computer apart)
get your mobo box and take apart your system and put your mobo on the box along with the CPU (and cooler) and connect your PSU and see if it gets power on your mobo and boot. Slowly start adding more hardware (shutdown and remove power everytime you add a piece of hardware ofcourse): memory, GPU, HDD(/SDD/M.2) and finally if you still have one ODD.

Thanks for the support and hand holding.
EVGA 1000W 80Plus
ASUS X99-A2