• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

power phase vs chipset?? which is more important for overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

koven

Registered
currently have a 785G mobo w/ 8 power phases

looking at the biostar ta890fxe as an "upgrade" but noticed it only has 6 power phases

what affect will this have on overclocking? should i look for another 890fx board but with 8 power phases? im trying to take my 955 under water and get ~4.2ghz

the more phases the more current can be supplied to the cpu. this becomes wanted when ocing quad core and higher cpus. i have no hands on experience with amd ocing. just following the intel rule of thumb i have come up with. a dual core will need at least 2 phases for mild ocing anything higher look at 4 phases. a quad core will need a min of 4 phases for mild ocing anything higher look at 8phases. this rule of thumb mainly applies to air/water ocing. if your into the extreme side of things then go with more. there is also a point that when reached more phases wont help in any situation.

Are you unable to reach 4.2ghz on the current board? have you checked out XS forums or here or anywhere, to see what oc's some are hitting with your board? as well as with the one your looking at getting? what if hitting a higher clock is a matter of finding the right bios for your setup. it is possible, maybe more so for the intel side of things. i dont know but think it is worth looking into.