• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Problems with Biostar I45 build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Facepuncher

Registered
I recently built a new system because I am interested in experimenting with overclocking, and so far I have not even been able to get it to run at stock settings. I am new to using enthusiast pc components; I have always built more budget minded systems in the past.

Basically my system freezes randomly and does not respond to anything except a reset from the switch on the case. This happens sometimes while windows is loading, while surfing the internet, or while gaming. Nothing particular seems to trigger it, and it varys in frequency from every twenty minutes to every 4 hours.

I have adjusted settings in the bios to match the timing and voltage on the package that my ram came in, and everything else seems to be normal. If I leave everything set at auto or default the problem still occurs.

I am running Vista Ultimate 64 bit. This is a fresh installation with nothing more than drivers and Spore loaded on it.

These are the specs:

Intel Q9550 cpu, Biostar Tpower I45 motherboard (P45 chipset), 2 x 2 gigs of Patriot 1066mhz PC2-8500 DDR2 ram, MSI 8800GTS 512 gpu, WD 250 gig hard drive, OCZ StealthXStream 500w power supply.

I suspect that I am doing something wrong with regards to the ram, or it may be faulty, but honestly I have no idea. If anybody could help me with some ideas on what I should do I would really appreciate it.