• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Project: Fatman and Little Boy

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Moto7451

Senior Something
A while ago I found myself becoming cramped inside of the midtower case I had been using for about six months. My watercooling loop took up too much room inside the little case to be expanded. GPU cooling was out of the question. I decided to embark on a two case project to fix this problem. Its been 9 months since I started the project and I'm only starting the log now because until last month, there really wasn't much to see except for an aluminum box. I'll let the pictures do the talking.

case1.jpg

Initial structure, made of 1/16th" Aluminum L channel, 1/8" Aluminum channel, and 22ga mild carbon steel sheet metal. Its held together with bolts and nuts.

caseside.jpg

The case turned and next to a ruler for a sense of proportion.

dualpsu.jpg

I have only cut out one mount for the dual PSU setup so far. I may remake the bracket as I'm not happy with the rigidity of the steel.

groupshot.jpg

radiator.jpg

radiatorprofile.jpg

tecblocks.jpg

pump.jpg

Here are the parts used in my TEC chiller. The pump and radiator came from PC Watercooling Shop in canada. The pump is the "$25 12v pump" that was discovered back around March.

As compared to the Thermaltake Armor case:

sizeup.jpg

encompass.jpg

I'll post more in a little bit.

Last edited:
Update 10/6/06:

Here is an example of the beast in action. Apparently I've lost a lot of the in progress pics.

rig.jpg

Update 10/29/06: