• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Project "Over-Kill"

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sweepee

Registered
Hello everyone. I'm a newbie to this forum and new to water cooling. I've built a number of computers in the past but this will be my first time go round with water. The plan is for an over the top workstation for audio and video work with some gaming ability. I also plan for moderate over-clocking.

I'll be using the following for the core of the machine;
  • ASUS P9X79-E WS
  • I7 4930
  • G Skill RipJaws Z series 64 Gb (8 sticks)
  • EVGA GTX 780 Ti (two units)
  • Three platter drives (undecided on the models)
  • Two Samsung 840 Pro Series 512 SATA drives

I have ordered a Caselabs Magnum M8 http://www.caselabs-store.com/magnum-m8-case/so I shouldn't have issue with room.

I'm planning for a large bay mount Monsoon rez (without pumps) http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...=37667&zenid=261e7e184a5150fafe48c159d18acac9

I would like this machine to be as quiet as possible so I'm planning for 4 low profile and low FPI 3x120 radiators. Two of them will be cross-flow rads to allow for my layout and routing of the acrylic lines.

I plan to cool the CPU both video cards and possibly the RAM. I'm not settled yet on if the ram will really need it as I plan to have a plenty of case ventilation.

My question is this...how many and what type of pumps would you recommend for this much radiator and line work? Again, my goal is for a very quiet high-end workstation type of machine as the primary use.

Thanks and I look forward to your recommendations :thup:

Welcome to OCFs!

Before we go on, I just hope you've done lots of research on watercooling. What heat surface is needed for heatload etc. As well as what maintenance is required for your loop to keep it in check.