• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

+Ram = black screen

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Skunk12

Hello,

I am new to he computer and overclock community. I have a working computer with 2x4gb ram in slot 1&3. I recently acquired 2x4gb ram of different speed. My understanding is if MB supports, then processor will use lower speed (thats fine).

When new ram is installed in slot 2&4, black screen (checked seating multiple times).:mad:

I remove ALL rams, test new in slot 1. Both work individually.

Test new in slot 1 &3 together, did not work.

Installed old back in 1 & 3, works.

What am I missing?:confused:

MB
1 x ASUS P8Z68-V PRO LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/Intel_Socket_1155/P8Z68V_PRO/

Old Ram
1 x G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model

New Ram
1 x G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model

Regards,

Skunk

Try to use older memory in slots 1/3 and new in 2/4.

Check if you have latest BIOS. Latest is maybe not always best but maybe there is any memory compatibility fix.

Try to use MemOK button ( top right corner of the board next to memory slots ).

You can also clean memory pins or use condensed air to remove dust from memory slots. I'm not sure if it will help as you said that other sticks are working in all slots.