• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ram help...OCing

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lanlan

Registered
I just built my first PC, relevant specs are as follows:
AMD A8 3870k APU
Biostar TA75A+ Mobo
Kingston Hyper-x 2GB 1866mhz RAM (x2)

The mobo says the RAM is running at 1600, I tried to manually OC it to 1866. Never OC'd before, but I just looked around the bios and found the manual overclock option. It doesn't show up as 1866 though, and APUs benefit significantly from faster ram timing, the highest they support is 1866. Any help for a noob like me?

Have you tried enabling the xmp profile for the memory in your BIOS?

Like I said, I'm a noob so I have no idea what that means xD
I'm not an idiot so I can find stuff out, but there are a ton of options and I have no idea what any of the stuff means and I dunno how to find the stuff out other than ask the nice people here.

And I should say I manually SET the RAM to 1866, I don't think I actually OC'd it

I would take a read through the manual. i'm not familiar with your BIOS screen options, but there should be a setting in there to be able to set a RAM profile (called an XMP profile) it auto-loads the speed, timings, and voltage for the memory. When you set it to 1866 did you also manually change the timings to what it was rated to in your BIOS? (the timings being something like 9-9-9-27 and the voltage (probably either 1.5v or 1.65v)