• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Randomly rebooting

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Azbok

Registered
Hey guys, I have a bit of a problem here and I was wondering if any of you could help me out.

Its a bit long, I apologize, but I think every bit of info counts.

Ok, a while ago I started playing Unreal Tournament 2004 with a ATI Radeon 9800 SE. When I played the game in detail higher than "Very Low" the computer would reboot mid-game. I didn't notice it rebooting at any certain time, or when any certain action was performed. I thought it was a cooling problem because whenever it rebooted, my video card was really hot, and the case I had at the time had bad cooling (one fan on the side, one in the back, and one on the PSU). Since then, I have purchased an ATI Radeon 9800 pro and a new sound card (before I was using onboard sound), I had the same problem with that video card as well. I also purchased a new case. This case has 2 fans in the front, 2 in the back, 1 on the side, 1 on the top, and 2 on the Power Supply. Everything seemed to be running fine with all my settings in "Higher" with the new case. But today, it rebooted on me randomly again. I opened up the case, and felt the video card and it wasn't hot at all. I felt almost everything (RAM, HDD, VideoCard, SoundCard), the only thing that was hot was a small little black thing that looks like a heatsink that was on my motherboard (about 1.5x1.5 inches).

I would like to note, I have been playing doom 3 on this computer also, and have yet to have this same problem.

Here are my system specs if they help at all.

Asus a7v8x-x motherboard
ATI Radeon 9800 PRO (used to have 9800 SE)
AMD Athalon XP 2500+ "barton" 1.8 ghz (not sure how good the cooling on this is)
6 channel sound card (used to be using onboard sound)
Lite-on DVD-RW