• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Rig for college

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Skiing Squirrel

So I am preparing to make my rig for college. I have been putting this off for about 8 months because I knew I would be upgrading right before I go to college anyway. Well... That time is here.

My current rig is something like an AMD 1700+ OC'd to 2.2ish ghz's. 256 megs of ram (sold a gig of it), raptor drive, 430 watt antec psu, dvd burner, 9600xt vid card, and Epox 8rda+ mobo.

I plan on doing 939pin mobo. By the way. I'm no noob with computers, but I have been out of the game for a while. So bear with me.

Those DFI Lan party Mobos seem to be the new hotness lately, but they seem to NOT support AGP anymore. Which one would you get? I also want some ram that I can overclock a lot. OCZ has always been my favorite. Any EL ram from them still good as far as overclocking abilities go? What else would you get?

Thanks.

I noticed your living in North Carolina too... I'm at ECU in Greenville, about to finish my first year, and biulding a computer for my next year in college too. I'm going with a 3.2 Ghz AMD 64(939 socket) Winchester Core OR FX-55 if money permits, 1 Gig TCCD RAM, Nvidia 6800u, 74Gb WD Raptor. I have not picked a mobo yet although, i do plan on getting a SLi mobo! :santa:

P.S.
Just curious where are you going in the fall? UNC?

Last edited: