• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Ryzen 5000 Series Voltages

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ngaugler

Registered
Like many other consumers, I am new to AMD. Their previous CPU and chipset just did not interest me and I stuck with what I knew. Now that I am running an AMD, I am trying to determine safe voltages and configurations for squeezing a reasonable amount of overclocked performance out of my Ryzen 5000 series CPU. I am hoping the community can help steer myself, and probably others, in the right direction. I only have the 5900x, so the majority of my discussions will be centered around that processor. For my deployment, I disabled PBO and any other BIOS overclocks on the CPU and started with stock settings for CPU and XMP for the RAM. My motherboard is an Asrock X570 Taichi. I have an EVGA CLC 280mm AIO and a 1000W EVGA G3 PSU. All of these components should be acceptable for basic overclocking.

As I have stated, I do not have previous experience, but reading many different reviews and various posts and discussions, from what I gather the new Ryzen 5000 series has different voltage limits than the previous generations. Here's AMDs official word on voltages for the Ryzen 5000 series:

AMD-Ryzen-5000-Desktop-CPUs_Temps_Overclock_Power-Limit_Profiles_2.jpg

My experience and monitoring has shown that the 5900x falls in line with this slide. Under regular desktop use, the voltage range is 1.10v to 1.50v and cores fluctuate between 300Mhz and 4.95Ghz. When running Cinebench R23 across all 24 threads it the voltage range is 1.10v to 1.40v and the cores fluctuate between 4249Hz and 4299Hz. When I game, the voltage range is 1.40v to 1.50v, cores are mostly locked at 4649Hz, but sporadically under clock down into the 3Ghz range.