• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Silent cooling in Antec 1200 case

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

laststop420

Registered
First want to start off by saying long time lurker here. I finally got the balls to not buy my next computer from dell and to build my own how hard could it be right its all basically plug and play im hoping.

I only have 3 parts purchased for my system so far
- Asus Sabertooth P67 mobo
- Antec 1200 V3 Case
- Antec CPX form factor CP-850 850 watt PSU

I went with antec 1200 and cp-850 combo because from what i've read this power supply performs amazingly well less then 1% voltage drop from 20%-100% on 12V rail and is virtually dead silent. The only problem is only a few antec cases can fit it as it is rather quite large compared to normal psu's.

Since I am a noob building computers I know I can't set up my own water cooling system but I'm confident I can set up the pre made closed loop systems out. I'm pretty set on the corsair h80 or h100 which i believe both will satisfy my cooling needs for my i5 2500k or i7 2600k (havent decided which I want yet.) I am not going to be overclocking to the very maximum. I'd be happy with a stable 4.4ghz turbo disabled. i wont be pushing it to 5ghz like i see many doing.

Since the H100 is only 15 dollars more I figure that is the better buy but I am worried the 240mm radiator will not fit without some sort of crazy mod to the case which im not willing to do. Can I mount the H100 rad on the inside or outside without any special case mods? Is that corsair digital link monitor worth it to get more control over the cooling?

I'm also looking to replace all the stock fans throughout the case with after market fans. What are the absolute best and quietest aftermarket fans I can buy money is no object?