• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SLI - is it worth it?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

woca

I was planning on getting the evga nforce 680i SLI mobo for SLI, even though there seems to be a lot of problems with the 680i chipset

now, with the problems and the realization that this is my first build im contemplating purchasing another board but one question that really important is

is SLI worth it?

I was planning on buying one GeForce 8800 GTX and getting another later on in the year around when Crysis comes out.

other specs are
C2D e6700
2GBs crucial Ballistix DDR2 800

i dont plan overclocking until later on in the year as well

Under windows SLI can really improve performance (up to 2X). the 650i also has SLI but it doesn't have as much bandwidth as the 680i. Linux SLI support is new but is buggy. I am using 2 7600GS and it really does make it feel graphically powerful. I still think the drivers are buggy and using the application profiles doesn't seem to work properly. From my experience i think SLI can be good for a future upgrade OR if you wanted to buy 2 of the best cards at once; however, even though it gives me good performance for the cost, I would have been better off getting a 7900GS, in my situation, because of the buggyness of the SLI drivers. Theres so many application profiles, its confusing on what order the settings are applied.

It depends on how you look at it... But for me looking into it... your talking 1400$ ( give or take a little :p ) I personally don't think SLI is worth that amount of money, especially when you consider the overhead involved with powering a system like that, and cooling it too.