• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PROJECT LOG The Evil Twin Command Center

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pr0l3

Hello OC - my first actual post here, and I'm proud to present a project that is a few years in the making. It's an ongoing project.

A few years ago, I hosted / backed up all my major stuff on a Thecus 4-bay NAS. I soon migrated to Windows Server 2003 so that I could host files and run applications at the same time. I work as a tech provider mostly for dental offices so I understand the need for a server, but one problem I always had was the 'extras' that come bundled with a server OS that I wouldn't really need...

I moved up to Windows 7 for my server OS - and I realize that it's not a true 'server' without a server OS, but I'll refer to it as such based on it's function.

SO!

I've built these machines mostly out of second hand parts to keep the costs down. I'm pretty proud of the outcome so far, with more plans for changes, stuff to learn and some true custom stuff.

I therefore present, version 1 of the 'Evil Twin Command Center'.

DSC_0423_zps2cd2e767.jpg

So let's break it down - part list and responsibilities:

FileServer

-Windows 7 Ultimate
-i5 2320 @ 3ghz
-8GB RAM - Kingston
-Asus P8H77M-Pro Mobo
-4 2TB WD Green @ RAID 5
-2 500GB WD Black @ RAID 1
-HAF 912

SecureServer

-Windows 7 Pro
-AMD Phenom 9950 Quad Core @ 2.61
-4GB RAM - Kingston
-MSI MS7390 Mobo
-2 1TB WD @ RAID 1
-2 500GB WD Black @ RAID 1
-Nvidia GTS 250
-HAF 912

---

Both servers house a BitFenix 120mm Spectre fans (red) and 3 CoolerMaster 80mm fans, one red, on the bottom. They're set up so that the air is pulled past the hard drives and exhausted out the back and top.