• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Tips and Suggestions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Superclocker201

I have been building computers off and on for 10 years. I have had a few water cooling cpu, mostly pre filled or kits. I am wanting to build a new computer and I wanted to to a custom loop. I was looking at the Corsair Obsidian 900D Elite, with 2 480 rad, and 320 rad. I wanted a single loop with two gpu cooling, cpu and ram cooling. I was thinking of doing the gpu with a one way flow and the rest doing compression fitings. I was wondering on what you all thought and any suggestions you might have.

Welcome!

First, list the specific hardware you are going to put it under (CPU, GPUs). That will help us figure out if your radded properly. You have a lot of rad listed.

Next, I would suggest not cooling ram. Its pointless from a performance standpoint and those blocks can be pretty restrictive (and you want a single loop).

Last edited:
Sounds fun, two 480's should be enough for everything; but as ED said, get a list together, mayb a shoplist of the watercool gear after you choose all the system gear, list it up here and we'll give u a critique.

as stated, cooling the ram is pointless, same as the NB/SB (for normal use and gaming.) a ram fan setup would do just nice.

i would suggest 1/2" piping, solid single or dual D5 pump setup, top of the line blocks for GPU/CPU, fittings of choice for looks.

2 480s should be more than enough cooling for a CPU + 2 GPU SLI/Xfire setup. I am guessing you're going for extreme silence? With that much heat surface I'd grab some really nice premium rad fans like the Noiseblockers e-loops B12s (PWM) while going with a MCP-35X2 (Dual DDC) pumps.