• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Tips on getting a good O/C?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Blackweb

Registered
Sorry for being the noob at this, but I'm trying to learn. As you may be guessing I'm relatively new at OC'ing and would like to do this right and understand it to a certain extent. I guess I have several questions, but since the first step is which cooler.. I choose the cooling section of the forum hope it's ok?

Anyways here are my specs:

CASE: Define R3, No PSU - Silver Arrow

PSU: 750W Corsair TX CMPSU-750TXEU 140m

Mainboard: Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Intel X58 DDR3
CrossFire/SLI

CPU: Intel Core i7 930 2.80 GHz 8MB Box
130W S1366 (currently at 3150mhz = 150 bclk)

GFX: MSI N480GTX-M2D15 - GF GTX 480 -
1.5 GB - DirectX 11

RAM: Corsair 12 GB kit DDR3 1333 Mhz 9-9-9-24

HD: Samsung 1TB SATAII/ 7200 HD103SJ

I'm tring to understand it all I've been reading posts, forums, guides you name it, alot this last week but I wouldn't say my complete understanding has moved all that much. Here are my main questions.

First which cooler would you suggest I choose? (I'd prefer one that is able to handle up to a 4ghz overclock on this CPU)

And yes I'm currently running with stock cooler so this will all be theory until I get my new cpu cooler.
The minor OC'ing I've done so far was after making sure in several places that there would be no harm to this and I have monitored my CPU temps ever since (no real increase) but then again, very small OC.