• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Total beginner looking for help taking first OC steps for AMD FX4300

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Orangehat44

Registered
Hello all i'll preface by saying I'm new to this, have tried to do a bunch of research but seem to only get more confused by conflicting opinions coupled with reading some articles and guides that might be 4+ years old vs newer ones. Do to this i've been some what timid to start.

PC is:
AMD FX-4300
ASUS sabertooth 990FX R2.0
16 gb gskill ram ddr 1866
Raidmax RX-700AC 700w 80 plus bronze
radeon hd 6870 1gb

Let me know if i need to list any other specs.
Bought this pc off a friend for cheap as he had a failed hdd and didnt feel like fixing, i only had to add windows 10 and replaced harddrive (with ssd), but knew at the time the gpu was one of the weaker links i would want to upgrade sooner than later. but i can play most of my main games on respectable settings (xcom2, totalwar warhammer, Eve online usually 2-3 clients at once which seems to be my worst case load after doing some monitoring last night.)

My interest in trying to overclock got peaked when i was researching and asking for advice on upgrading my gpu. unfortuantly we had some unexpected car issues come up that cut into my upgrade budget, and probably wont be able to upgrade the gpu for a month or so. but in my questioning many mentioned the fx4300 was the bottleneck and with my mobo could look into overclocking it a bit. i have AC so room temp doesnt swing much, but i do want to open her up and clean her and get a good baseline for current cooling. (I believe friend gave me a arctic freezer a30 extreme cpu cooler amd 320w with the pc when i bought it but he hadnt installed it, i gotta see if i can find it, if i can i could add that if that would help)