• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Trying build my first PC to help me leap into a Motion Design career

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

whoatom101

Hello all,

I am new to this site due to my quest to build a high-performance PC to help me launch into a career into Motion Graphics. I currently work in print design and illustration, but animation/motion has always interested me. The only problem is: I don't know where to start. I have basic After Effects knowledge (nothing too advanced), and would like to continue and maybe one day become a pro in motion. I think 2-D animation is my main goal and quite possibly learning some Cinema 4D.

I'm working with a 1000–2000k budget. I would like to ask where I should start, and if it's recommended that I should buy moderate-priced hardware? I figure I'd switch out for better parts when more complex jobs demand? I don't exactly want to go all out and but everything that is expensive just for the sake of it.

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

-Tom

That's a nice budget to work with. Do you need OS , keyboard monitor etc.. or just the main parts. Also what software will you be working with and can it take advantage of 6-8-10 + cores. This will save you time in processing.