• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

URGENT Virus/Internet Issue

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Soichiro

So, I'm over at someone's house right now, and I just got done running Spybot and Avast to remove a bunch of spyware and viruses. However, after I restarted the computer, I found that neither IE nor Firefox can connect to the internet. IE gives the standard "Cannot display this page" screen, and firefox shows a screen saying "The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading." The only browser that works is the extremely slow ISP browser. I can't even connect to the DSL modem's configuration screen. Suggestions please! :(

I'm a noob, but could internet access be blocked by the hosts file?

I can't find the url, but google "scan for virus" and go to Symanntec's website and let them scan the system for you.

It will take awhile, but it's worth it.

Some virii are made to circumvent Symanntec's stuff, so I'd also go to MS site and d/l and run the "malicious software removal tool". There are 2 kinds. You want the one that runs all at once.

Then I'd check out your Task Manager, if there's any more trouble. AVG has a free and quick anti-virus checker that seems to do a good job, for me.

Good luck!

Run this and reboot:

http://www.softpedia.com/get/Tweak/Network-Tweak/WinSockFix.shtml

Winsockfix is a tool in my adware/virus removal arsenal. Often the malware will attach itself or replace one of the network settings and/or protocols. This resets those settings to default (requires a reboot to take effect).

If this still doesn't fix it you:

1 - Either still have an infection.