• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Weird overclocking issues with Q6600

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ccdoggy

Registered
I have been using my build for 6+ months now and a reoccurring problem is driving me crazy. First off I have a cold boot issue where if the computer is overclocked and started up from cold it will lockup within 20 seconds of loading into windows. I have messaged MSI tech support and no answer other then to update to the latest beta bios which did not help.

Secondly my computer seems to go down in stability the cooler it gets. If i am benching it at upper voltages (VTT, NB, RAM, Core) it will work great but get a little hot. so i reboot and drop the votlages a bit and try again. each time reducing one of them and confirming its stable. but after leaving it on at a stable (5+ hours of BurnTest) setting overnight i try the burn test and it fails within 5 min. like its not stable when cool.

Q6600 G0 2.4 @ 3.150 (333x9)
2x2gig OCZ Titanium ram which is underclocked and timed for working on the processor
MSI P7N Platinum Bios 1.4b1 750i chipset
Asus ENGTX 260
650 watt OCZ PSU

does anyone know whats going on with the link between stability and heat in my system? it is getting really annoying trying to find a stable settings only to have them be unstable in the morning even though its been on all night.

Thanks allot i really appreciate any help or direction you can give.

*Edit*
Bios settings:
D.O.T. Disabled (msi overclocking thing)
EIST Disabled
FSB @ 1400
Memory @ 800 (with auto clocks 5-5-5-18)
CPU ratio of 9
CPU voltage 0.0875 (used to have it at .1125 which makes it in windows ~1.44V and made me uncomfortable, but had cpu stable at 3.4ghz) Right now in windows it sits at 1.424 and 1.384 under load
Memory voltage 2.0 (rated up to 2.2)