• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What do you think about this build?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RFrost689

I am a first time builder but I am aiming for a fairly decent machine. As far as i've been able to tell all of these components are compatible and it will give me room to expand down the road while keeping my systems preformance level on the better half of the scale for a few years. I will be using the machine for gaming but over all I am looking for performance down the road and bragging rights. So far I have:

Intel 330 Series Solid-State Drive 240 GB SATA 6 Gb/s 2.5-Inch - SSDSC2CT240A3K5

EVGA GeForce GTX670 2048MB GDDR5 256bit, 2x Dual-Link DVI, HDMI, DP, 4-Way SLI Ready Graphics Card (02G-P4-2670-KR)

Intel Core i7-3930K Hexa-Core Processor 3.2 Ghz 12 MB Cache LGA 2011 - BX80619I73930K

ASUS P9X79 DELUXE LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

Corsair Professional Series HX 750 Watt ATX/EPS Modular 80 PLUS Gold (HX750)

G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2133 (PC3 17000) Desktop Memory Model F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH

I also plan on using the hard drive from my laptop containing Windows 7 which is a:

Seagate Momentus 5400 500GB 5400RPM SATA 3Gb/s 8MB Cache 2.5 Inch Internal NB Hard Drive ST9500325AS

What do you think?

3930K is not the best gaming CPU there is, FWIW - and I do speak from experience.

And, LOL, seriously about using a 5400RPM 2.5" drive in that machine.