• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What PSU should I get?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DDjusD

Okay I am new to building custom PCs and I can't figure this part out, what PSU should I get?

Here's is what all I am about to order:
ASUS P6T7 SuperComputer
COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
4 Western Digital Caviar Black 1.5TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache - Raid 5
Pioneer Black Internal Blu-Ray Burner
Intel Core i7-980X Extreme Edition Gulftown 3.33GHz
G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 24GB (6 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
3 EVGA GeForce GTX 480

I need to know what PSU I need, all help is useful. Also can you please make sure that the PSU is one from newegg.com so I can order everything from the same site.

Don't run Furmark or OC heavily. If you want to do either of those things, you'll need a 1200w. Corsair is releasing or just released an absolute beast of a 1200w PSU.

Don't run Furmark or OC heavily. If you want to do either of those things, you'll need a 1200w. Corsair is releasing or just released an absolute beast of a 1200w PSU.

Really? I'm pretty sure the 1000W corsair would have no problems, especially when you look at it on paper....

Really? I'm pretty sure the 1000W corsair would have no problems, especially when you look at it on paper....
Really. :cool:

3 GTX 480's @ ~250W= 750 (stock GPUs only)
1 980x @ 130W stock = ~175W+ depending on o/c/

=925W.

Now it is corsair and all but....I wouldnt want to run anything that close to its max.

So I assume this is for a multi monitor setup DDjusD? :chair:

Whats the reason for 24GB of ram? 12GB would do all but the most intense graphical design people (think 3DS)...

=925W.

Now it is corsair and all but....I wouldnt want to run anything that close to its max.