• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What's the limit? Heat or Stabilty? OCing 970BE

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Magnummur

Registered
Hey, I'm also new to OCing.

I've read Dolk's Guide, and many threads and posts this past week. To no avail are they helping me sofar to stabilize my system at 3.9ghz and above.

I can infact get it stable enough to run 3dmark vantage @ 4ghz to the end and score but in most cases when I run prime 95 one core will create an error in rounding?..or my system resets on me completly.

I think I have lots of thermal headroom as when I can get prime 95's bt to hold out for about 10 minuts my cpu temp's at 47c at 1.475v and cpuNB 1.3v, 2800mhz at 43c. I've jacked the cpu volts as high as 1.5v and its steady below 52c. These settings sofar are what have worked best but from what I've read it seems I should be able to do much better.

I've also backed down my Vengeance 1600 ram to 1333 and laxed the timings as much as possible and it's command rate to 1T as per another's suggestion in another thread, just so to eliminate that possibility.

Is my OC limit my patience to find the stabilizing combination, or is it the heat?

The below image are not my current best running settings but you'll get the gist of what Im working with...and thanks.
http://www.facebook.com/DittsyBop#!...68726526349.2115999.1501655557&type=1&theater
Can we not upload images right from our computer to post?

Yes you can upload your pics directly here. Click on Go Advanced and Use the attachment tool ..... looks like a paperclip at the top. I have uploaded you pic from your facebook page for you but if you can include a snap of HWMonitor while running prime, say after about 10 to 20 min it will show your settings and heat under load.