• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Will SCSI harddrives boost my system.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Easybeat

Registered
Firstly heres the system which is used only for gaming:-
Abit NF7
XP3200
1Gb Ram
80gb 7,200rpm Maxtor (Windows 98)
2.4gb Seagate (Windows XP)
Radeon 9800pro
The whole system is a dual boot as a lot of my controllers will not work in Windows XP. The games played on it range from Doom3 etc right down to low level flash games.

Okay, so I have come across a couple 10,000 rpm 9.1 gb SCSI drives with an Adaptec controller card and I am wondering if these would give any sort of boost to my system. I planned to put an OS on each one (along with the newer games) and use the 80gb for storage of the older games.

I have zero experience of SCSI drives so any advice will be welcome.

Thanks

Scuzzy is real fast. It will blow Raptor SATA out of the water in terms of speed. I have had a scuzzy systems before and yes you do notice. Only when you are acessing your hard drives though. Load times will see a nice boost and seek times. Transfering files will be real fast to.

It is a premium option and you pay for it to. The cost is high for a good setup. I would say if your going to consider SCSI don't skimp. There can be quirks using scuzzy too.
Actually RAID(yummy Raptors) is the low cost alternative to SCSI. Having a scuzzy array is real sweet if you got the cash.

Edit: My old P3 server was a 6 disc array.

probably allot of people who ought sockect A systems when they were top of the line :D

i would say a Raptor as well if your board has SATA.

SCSi pffers real low seek times,Great transfer speeds and in my opinion are a good way to go for many reaons like durability for one..They seam to last and last..