• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

win8.1 Pro OEM Builder License can only be installed ONCE? I dont understand

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pmap93

Registered
Hello :D

It's my very first time, building a PC on my own, and first time i bought an new Win8.1 Disk.

However, I've read online that this can only be installed once. :-/

(or maybe it's a misunderstanding from my side)

Because, I need to replace my (upgrade) Motherboard and CPU later on. But I have an SSD already and I plan to install it now because my PC is slow in starting up.

But after I install a new mobo and CPU, I'd have to reinstall Win8.1 correct?

But is it true that OEM Win8.1 Disks can only be installed once? One motherboard? :shrug:

Here's from Microsoft's Licensing FAQ:

Q. Can a PC with an OEM Windows operating system have its motherboard upgraded and keep the same license? What if it was replaced because it was defective?
A. Generally, an end user can upgrade or replace all of the hardware components on a computer—except the motherboard—and still retain the license for the original Microsoft OEM operating system software. If the motherboard is upgraded or replaced for reasons other than a defect, then a new computer has been created. Microsoft OEM operating system software cannot be transferred to the new computer, and the license of new operating system software is required. If the motherboard is replaced because it is defective, you do not need to acquire a new operating system license for the PC as long as the replacement motherboard is the same make/model or the same manufacturer's replacement/equivalent, as defined by the manufacturer's warranty.