• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Windows won't let me do anything. (XP)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

K1llnyou

Registered
I recently re-installed Windows XP (SP3) for someone on a Gateway M465-E Laptop, it works up to the boot. From this point on, Windows won't let me do anything even though I am an administrator on said laptop. I can not open any internet, system settings; I can't even check the system specs. Anyone know what is going on? In mean time- I'll install a different version of windows to see if that helps. :mad:

What do you mean you it "won't let you do anything"? Specifically speaking, what happens when you try to run these programs? Does nothing happen? Do you get an error? Can you open Task Manager (ctrl + alt + del; or ctrl + shift + esc)? What changed on the system, in detail? Did this not work right after a restore or did you do something in between (install programs, use it, etc)?

We will need more detail on what is going on to be able to assist. I would also suggest being as verbose as possible when explaining your issue so I don't need to ask a ton of questions.