• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Workstation questions (9000 USD budget)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zapador

Registered
Hi!

I used to play around with hardware all the time when I was a young teenager, but for the past 5 years, working as a photographer, I've owned three powerful ThinkPads and an HP EliteBook - all with 1920x1200 resolution, fast CPU etc., pretty much the most powerful laptop workstations around all costing around 4500 USD. I haven't owned a desktop in that period :-/

But recently I've started working with HD video editing in Premiere Pro and After Effects and then I realized that a laptop just won't do when it comes to such intensive applications - so now I'm in the market for a desktop workstation costing around 9000 USD and with an expected lifespan of 3 years. Since I have changed laptop every 1½ year, if this lasts me 3 I can spend double the money. So it seems to make a lot of sense.

I already own a 30" inch 2560x1600 monitor that I will use for the new desktop, that's why I went for SLI to run anything at native resolution.

I will mainly be using it for Adobe products and in my sparetime for gaming - ofc!

I will add high-end watercooling to CPU and GFX.
By doing that I eliminate the most noisy components which is important.

Also I intend to OC the CPU, having a 3960X and running it at standard speed would be a shame I think.

So here's what I've put together so far:

MOBO: Gigabyte GA-X79-UD5
PSU: Corsair Pro Gold AX1200
CPU: Core i7 3960X
RAM: Corsair Dominator-GT 8x4 GB (32 GB) 2133 MHz CL9
GFX: 2x Asus GeForce GTX590
SYS-SSD: OCZ RevoDrive 3 X2 240 GB SSD Max IOPS (PCI-E)
CACHE-SSD: 2x Corsair Force Series GT 120 GB (RAID0 @ MOBO)
HDD: 4x WD Caviar Black 2 TB 7200RPM (RAID 0+1 @ LSI MegaRaid)
RAID: LSI MegaRAID SAS 9240-4i