• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

X5670 Overclocking Same as i7 930?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Atomic_Sheep

Ok, well since I think I have broken my i7 930. I did get it up to 4Ghz on air with reasonable temps after which point I started playing around with the overclock and then it stopped being stable. Happy that it still runs at stock speeds but I think that's pretty much all it can do now. Not sure how that can be possible but that's what I'm experiencing.

Anyway, picked up myself one of these X5670 Xeons, second hand obviously, and was wondering... is the over clocking on these chips more of the same i.e. the same process as for the i7 930?

I followed these two guides for my i7 930 over clock:

https://www.lifehacker.com.au/2010/07/a-beginners-guide-to-overclocking-your-intel-processor/

http://www.overclockers.com/3-step-guide-overclock-core-i3-i5-i7/

Not sure why my overclock went awry (I thought I followed the process to the t, temps during the overclock never went above 86 from memory under Prime95 on the hottest core, hot I know, but all the cool kids were doing it too), but going to give it another go with the X5670. Hopefully they are binned better than the i7s. I'm hearing they run at less power at idle and also run cooler which should help with the overclock. I'm hoping to get the same 4Ghz. But I'm hearing they go up to 4.4Ghz but I'm not sure whether that's on water. I'm not changing to water, so sounds like 4Ghz should be easily attainable on these things.

EDIT: I'm confused, some sites are saying my motherboard isn't on the list of being able to support the X5670, other sites suggest it should work. Anyone know what the deal is here? My mobo is X58A-UD3R Rev 1.

Last edited: