• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

CPU Cooling Challenge - Time For Water??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

UnseenMenace

UnseenModerator
Full Article - Overclockers.com

"CPU Cooling Challenge - Time For Water??" - Joe Citarella - 8/25/03

SUMMARY: Looks like the stars may be aligning for "mainstream" watercooling.

I've been observing the heatsink scene for going on five years now and every once in a while, I sit back and try to read the tea leaves to discern where things are heading.

The major event in CPU cooling has been CPU die-shrink (see "CPU Die Size - The Cooling Challenge Ahead"); basically the overarching issue confronting heatsink designers is how to cool more watts in an ever decreasing area. As the watts/mm² increase, wicking off heat becomes increasingly (maybe exponentially) more difficult.

An excellent paper by Kaveh Azar shows these trends very nicely:
chippower.jpg

Note the sharp rise in power density starting 1999. The implication, as we overclockers know all too well, is that we are using alternative cooling technologies to deal with this trend, most notably water:

NOTE This Information Is Edited :- Reading The Full Article Is Recomended

1) Is the time limited for air cooling ? - is it heading for extinction, if so there must be something to take its place, is that watercooling ?
( Recently Gainward have released the first mass produced water cooled graphic card, should we expect more products such as this ? )
2) How do you think the mass market will feel about water cooled products ? - Will they embrace them or will the idea of running water inside of a computer create concern.
3) If watercooling is not the solution that is required for the mass market.. what is ?.. There is clearly a heat situation which needs addressing long term.

** Quick Links **