Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Ad-aware--Is it worth installing?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-04, 11:53 AM Thread Starter   #1
sirjinx1974
Member

 
sirjinx1974's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vantucky, Washington

 
Ad-aware--Is it worth installing?


Some spy-ware programs install spy-ware on your computer and some do not. Does this program have anything that is fishy about it? I see a lot of people talk about it and how it works good. Does this program also run along with windows and prevent spy-ware from installing on your computer? Would this program slow down my computer any? Thank you.
sirjinx1974 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 11:59 AM   #2
Turd Furguson
Member

 
Turd Furguson's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ashland, KY

 
Ad-aware will not install spyware.

Ad-ware only removes the spyware.
Spybot Search and Destory has a immunize feature that supposedly will prevent it.

Ad-aware will not slow down your pc.

__________________
"When the rich wage war it's the poor who die." - LP
Turd Furguson is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 12:10 PM Thread Starter   #3
sirjinx1974
Member

 
sirjinx1974's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vantucky, Washington

 
Thanks a bunch.
sirjinx1974 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 12:21 PM   #4
nahmus
Member

 
nahmus's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sailing the Azure seas

 
yes adaware is worth installing. I use it all the time and it does a nice job. spybot S&D also works well and using them both is a good way to keep things clean

__________________
Shame on the night..... for places i've been and what i've seen... For giving me the strangest dreams - Dio(RIP)
nahmus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 12:38 PM Thread Starter   #5
sirjinx1974
Member

 
sirjinx1974's Avatar 

Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Vantucky, Washington

 
This spy-ware, what does it do? Can spy-ware track my computer and posibly steel some of my passwords and things? I do not know much about it. Possibly, could you point me in a direction so I can read and learn about spy-ware and what it does and how it works?
sirjinx1974 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 12:52 PM   #6
Vio1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Toronto Canada

 
id say its worth installing.. have it installed on my pc all the time.

__________________
Heatware
Vio1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 02:11 PM   #7
Mushudo
Registered

 
Mushudo's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004

 
spyware usually collects personal information and such. i guess it could get passwords if it was made that way
Mushudo is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 02:21 PM   #8
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by sirjinx1974
This spy-ware, what does it do? Can spy-ware track my computer and posibly steel some of my passwords and things? I do not know much about it. Possibly, could you point me in a direction so I can read and learn about spy-ware and what it does and how it works?
http://www.spychecker.com/spyware.html
http://www.spywareguide.com/term_list.php
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 08:48 PM   #9
kosnosferatu
New Member



Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Mequon WI

 
i use adaware almost daily. i update and check more or less each day. its good. i remember doing it on my friends computer that had never been searched for spyware before and tehre were over 600!! lol.
kosnosferatu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 08:56 PM   #10
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 08:57 PM   #11
madman22
Member



Join Date: May 2004

 
i dont use any type of spyware remover software, yeah i know i have spyware, but when it gets too much, i just reformat. it saves me a lot of time

__________________
Heatware
FX8350
SABERTOOTH 990FX
8gb GSkill 1600
2xVertex4-RAID0
madman22 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-18-04, 09:14 PM   #12
s[H]sIkuA
Member

 
s[H]sIkuA's Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002

 
i currently dont have internet access but i still install it anyway since some prog comes with spyware
s[H]sIkuA is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-04, 05:30 AM   #13
Calculusaurus
Member

 
Calculusaurus's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Colgate University, NY

 
lol, how are you posting then =P just kidding; you're likely on another computer at the moment .. yadda yadda yadda..

i don't download adaware because i don't download things with spyware. i'm preeettttttttyy sure that things like ati catalyst drivers or ut2k4 patches don't have spyware =P Though if you suspect you do have spyware (which i'm sure i will given a few months) then adaware is a rock solid program.
Calculusaurus is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-04, 12:11 PM   #14
Kendan
Senior Punk

 
Kendan's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dark side of hell

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calculusaurus
lol, how are you posting then =P just kidding; you're likely on another computer at the moment .. yadda yadda yadda..

i don't download adaware because i don't download things with spyware. i'm preeettttttttyy sure that things like ati catalyst drivers or ut2k4 patches don't have spyware =P Though if you suspect you do have spyware (which i'm sure i will given a few months) then adaware is a rock solid program.
Do you browse the web? If so download adaware and run it I bet your machine is crawling with adware and stuff

__________________
Hello:sn:
Kendan is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-04, 12:19 PM   #15
Silversinksam
Moderator/ Silver Paste Taster©

 
Silversinksam's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sunshine State, USA

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turd Furguson

Ad-aware will not slow down your pc.
If you have a very old PC and use Add-aware's Add on program called ADD-Watch, it may slow you down a tad, but Add-aware like Turd stated doesn't slow you down and is worth installing.

If you install it, let us know how many spyware programs it finds

__________________
-15 May 2012: On Hiatus helping bees and the planet at the moment

-You have over 101 posts and Can't see the classifieds??? Click this link.

My Heatware
Silversinksam is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-04, 12:31 PM   #16
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calculusaurus
lol, how are you posting then =P just kidding; you're likely on another computer at the moment .. yadda yadda yadda..

i don't download adaware because i don't download things with spyware. i'm preeettttttttyy sure that things like ati catalyst drivers or ut2k4 patches don't have spyware =P Though if you suspect you do have spyware (which i'm sure i will given a few months) then adaware is a rock solid program.
ya like kendan said you get adaware just from using the internet. i download no cracks or illegal stuff, actually basically the only thing i download on the computer in my sig is omega drivers. (usually i download stuff on my old computer and then send it to my computer) When i run adaware i still usually get some spyware stuff just from the web... usually in the form of cookies. i can guarantee that if you just even use the internet you have spyware on your computer.
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-04, 12:37 PM   #17
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calculusaurus
lol, how are you posting then =P just kidding; you're likely on another computer at the moment .. yadda yadda yadda..

i don't download adaware because i don't download things with spyware. i'm preeettttttttyy sure that things like ati catalyst drivers or ut2k4 patches don't have spyware =P Though if you suspect you do have spyware (which i'm sure i will given a few months) then adaware is a rock solid program.
Like Kendan said, if you browse the web, especially if you use IE... You have a lot of spyware on that machine.

BTW, Adaware also has an immunize feature I believe, you just have to actually pay for the program to get the immunize function.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-04, 12:42 PM   #18
radium
Member

 
radium's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Rhode Island

 
I love it, adaware 6.0 has gotten rid of about 1000 instances of spyware, mostly cookies, but some nasty nasty force downloads.

__________________
E8400 @ stock
ATI HD4850 @ stock
OCZ Platinum 2x2GB 5-5-5-15
P182 case
150 Raptor OS/Games
250 Seagate storage
Asus P5Q pro

Waiting on the vid cooler to come in before OC's ^_^
radium is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-04, 12:43 PM   #19
stan03
Member

 
stan03's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2003

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMOG
Like Kendan said, if you browse the web, especially if you use IE... You have a lot of spyware on that machine.

BTW, Adaware also has an immunize feature I believe, you just have to actually pay for the program to get the immunize function.
what is that supposed to do? i have the professional version but i don't see what you are talking about
stan03 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 06-19-04, 12:59 PM   #20
I.M.O.G.
Glorious Leader

 
I.M.O.G.'s Avatar 

Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Rootstown, OH

10 Year Badge
 
Stop future re-installations on certain things.

BTW, I guess I should mention that I have no confirmation of this feature in Adaware, but I have heard others mention that it is there in paid-for version.

__________________
The OC Forums Way
We are a team. We are a community. We are a fellowship made strong by mutual respect and shared dedication to the task of enriching all who come here.
The OC Forums Thank You Thread
Put your computer to work for our OC Forum Teams!
Try out our POST TEMPLATES, they save you time answering common questions!

I spend half my money on CPUs, GPUs, and Liquid Nitrogen. The other half I waste.
I.M.O.G. is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Microsoft Operating Systems
Microsoft Operating Systems Microsoft Operating Systems and Applications
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?